Why I’m Keeping my Resolutions for 2015 Pretty Simple

Well, it’s a new year. I won’t bore you with another of the “I’m going to lose 15 pounds this year” or “I’m going to give up sweets” post that the internet is absolutely flooded with during this time of the year, but I will share a few of the resolutions I’m making for the new year that I think a real person can actually stick to, that I’m hoping will help me lead a more fulfilled, healthy, and happy day-to-day life.

  1. In 2015, I plan to moisturize my skin at least twice a day (when doing my makeup in the morning and when going to sleep at night). I noticed when I was powdering my nose the other day how cracked and dry my skin looked, and it really disgusted me. Maybe it’s the cold winter air, or maybe it’s just that I have crazy dry skin, but I definitely don’t want to look like that. What if I’ve always looked like that with powder, and never noticed before????  So, my hope is that moisturizing twice daily will be enough to get my skin back to normal and when I wear makeup it won’t crack and look so dry. Obviously if this resolution is going to work it’s not going to take all year to notice the results, so I’ll try to remember to weigh in on what happens next. Right now I’m using the Target brand (Up & Up) version of Neutrogena facial moisturizing lotion with SPF 15. If you have any great suggestions of reasonably priced (under $20) facial moisturizers that won’t upset sensitive skin, please leave a comment!!
  2. Going hand-in-hand with my first resolution, I am going to try to, on a daily basis, wear less makeup. I’m a person who is racked with, in my opinion, TOO MANY freckles. I’ve felt this way since I was a kid. It seems like the rise in gorgeous celebs and lily-white models has only increased the insecurities I have with my face filled with freckly blemishes. But damn it, I’m going to learn to love these freckles in 2015, if only because I’m going to force myself to look at them full-on most every day (exempting special occasions—then I can wear my formerly “normal” makeup). I’m hoping the moisturizing routine will help me prevent getting new freckles, and as old skin gets replaced some of my lighter freckles may fade away completely, too.  Overall, a major goal this year is to take good care of my skin. Being in my twenties, I keep hearing people say “now is the time to really start taking care of yourself so that you’ll stay looking young as you age” so here’s to that! I also need to start taking off the limited makeup I do plan to wear every night before bed. For now, my makeup ritual is going to be just eyeliner, mascara, powder to conceal the shininess of the moisturizer, and lip balm.
  3. I need to get a new job in 2015. I need to start making actual money, because I’m seeing the light at the end of the tunnel that is college, and I’m realizing how little I actually have saved. My goal is to get hired somewhere in the first half of the semester, and have some extra spending money for incidental things like trips and eating meals out at restaurants. If you’re the praying/hopeful type, I’d appreciate your thoughts there! I’m really nervous about financial stuff.
  4. Be nicer and more honest with myself and others. This is a broad one that can’t be easily explained, but I’ll try. I want to be sweet to my boyfriend, my friends, my family, and the incidental people I meet from day to day. I want to come across as someone you’d want to be friends with. I want to be patient and helpful. I need to be honest with myself about my goals and my life. So here’s hoping for that.
  5. Make more time for straight-up fun and laughter. 2014 was a year filled with surviving pharmacy school and figuring out how to make ends meet financially and personally. It was a year I questioned whether to stay in my relationship (not because the love was lacking, but because I was so busy I just didn’t know how to balance everything). Pharmacy school doesn’t get loads easier from here on in, but the course load lightens and so I’m hoping the daily time commitment decreases somewhat, since there’s physically less classes for me to need to study for. But we shall see. In the fall, I dedicated one day a week to fun, and it usually fell on Saturday, which, coincidentally enough at a huge public university, happens to be football day where I’m from. Which means every other weekend I spent it either roasting or freezing at a tailgate and a game all day, or I spent a huge chunk of the day watching a game on TV. In the spring semester, there will be no football. And since that’s the main sport I enjoy participating in, it means a whole day a week will be freed up for me to absolutely relax. I know that if I find a job it will sometimes take a part of that free time I’m looking forward to, but I hope that I have become good enough at balancing my time that I can handle it (I did, after all, achieve a 4.0 this past semester, keep up good relationships with my friends, keep my romantic relationship alive despite some setbacks, and even found a little time for hobbies/TV/etc.)!

What are your resolutions? Are they more complicated than mine? Probably. I just think it’s hard to put a lot of pressure on yourself to do a whole bunch right at the start of the year. It’s a lot more likely that I’m going to do something if I can go in one of two directions—either something very simple that just has to get done every day (i.e.: moisturizing my face and taking my makeup off at night) or if it is something that I can do without a lot of real personal effort (i.e.: being a little nicer to people and a bit more honest with myself about my feelings). There are things I’m not sure will happen, like finding a job (but oh my goodness my fingers are crossed) and finding one whole consecutive block of 24 hours to have fun every single week. But hey, what’s a new year if you don’t try to mix things up a little and make changes to the things you aren’t wholly satisfied with?

Here’s to you, and to me, and to making 2015 the best year ever!

More soon – TS

Leave a Reply

